Viruses from web browsing


Over the weekend I was searching Google for suppliers of electric panel radiators. The search could have been for anything, I just happened to have a requirement for some electric heating. On clicking on a link to the website of a known company that I had previously purchased items from, my anti virus program went beserk, identifying a virus attack immediately.  I suspect that this companies website has been compromised without their knowledge, and unsuspecting customers are being attacked by this virus if their AV protection is not up to scratch.

My PC was thankfully not infected because I am running a very good Anti Virus program and it is kept up to date with regular virus signature file updates. But this made me realise how easy it is to get your PC infected with a virus, even if you only visit websites of companies that you know and trust.

Wouldn’t it be nice if you could isolate your Web browsing with a secure ring fence from the rest of your computer so that viruses could not get into your PC files and Operating System? And when you finished your Web browsing any viruses in this ring fenced area just get deleted. Well this is possible, at very little cost, on any Windows PC. I  am going to be trying out this technology over the next couple of weeks and will then report back on my findings.

Chris Moody
ASL Computer Services

Leave a Reply

